Inclusive European Congress

15 – 18 June 2022 in Zurich was a complete success

The congress in Zurich was a success. It was a great experience for more than 500 participants from 12 countries. With high summer temperatures and bright sunshine, the rich programme offered many opportunities to experience borders and how to overcome them in oneself and others. The aims and hopes of the organisers were fulfilled by far: That the congress could be realised at all and that it was even fully booked. Above all, however, that borders were actually moved. The participants will benefit from their experiences for a long time to come.


In general

Zurich is the venue for an inclusive congress that has been in preparation since 2019. Who would have thought back then that the title „Moving Borders“ would become so topical?

Persons with disabilities often have more to give than is socially recognised and conceded to them. Creating awareness of this and enabling participants to carry this message beyond the boundaries of the congress is an important concern. In this way the congress will also be able to take on a social and political dimension.

“For me, the congress is important to show others that people with a disability can do much more than is always thought.”

Member of the inclusive organising team

After a time of hardship, the four-day event aims to offer encounter, exchange, education and development. Last year, the congress had to be postponed. Now all Covid restrictions have been lifted in Switzerland and we hope for participants from all over Europe.

In the centre of Zurich, the famous „Volkshaus“, 500 beds and all the catering have been booked and organised, along with 25 working groups and a variety of excursions.

A pleasing number of participants from different countries have already registered. You too – who knows when there will be such an event again?

Organisators

Inklusiver Europäischer Kongress

15. – 18. Juni 2022 in Zürich war ein voller Erfolg

Der Kongress in Zürich ist erfolgreich durchgeführt worden. Er war ein großartiges Erlebnis für mehr als 500 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer aus 12 Ländern. Bei hochsommerlichen Temperaturen und strahlendem Sonnenschein bot das reichhaltige Programm vielfältig Gelegenheit, Grenzen und deren Überwindung bei sich und anderen zu erleben. Die Ziele und Hoffnungen der Organisatoren wurden bei weitem erfüllt: Dass der Kongress überhaupt realisiert werden konnte und dass er sogar ausgebucht war. Vor allem aber, dass tatsächlich Grenzen bewegt wurden. Die Teilnehmenden werden noch lange von ihren Erlebnissen zehren können.


Allgemeines

Zürich ist der Veranstaltungsort eines inklusiven Kongresses, der seit 2019 vorbereitet wird. Wer hätte damals gedacht, dass der Titel „Grenzen bewegen“ so aktuell werden würde?

Menschen mit Behinderungen haben oftmals mehr zu geben, als gesellschaftlich anerkannt ist und ihnen zugestanden wird. Dafür Bewusstsein zu schaffen und die Teilnehmenden zu befähigen, diese Botschaft über die Grenzen des Kongresses hinauszutragen, ist ein wichtiges Anliegen.

«Für mich ist der Kongress wichtig, um Anderen zu zeigen, dass Menschen mit einer Behinderung weitaus mehr können als immer gedacht wird.»

Mitglied des Organisationsteams

Nach entbehrungsreicher Zeit, möchte die viertägige Veranstaltung Begegnung, Austausch, Bildung und Entwicklung bieten. Letztes Jahr musste der Kongress verschoben werden. Nun sind in der Schweiz alle Covid-Beschränkungen aufgehoben und wir hoffen auf Teilnehmende aus ganz Europa.

Im Zürcher Stadtzentrum sind das berühmte „Volkshaus“, 500 Betten und die gesamte Verpflegung, nebst 25 Arbeitsgruppen und vielfältige Ausflüge gebucht und organisiert worden.

Erfreulich viele Teilnehmer*innen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern haben sich bereits angemeldet. Sie auch – wer weiß wann es ein solches Ereignis wieder geben wird?

Organisatoren